The Basic Consequences of a “No Insurance” Ticket: This offense is a misdemeanor in Missouri and can have various consequences, including up to 15 days in jail, an order of supervision, and/or up to a $300.00 fine, along with the four points being added to your record. The specific consequences and your options can vary depending on the court and your response to the ticket.
Your Options With a “No Insurance” Ticket: You may receive a “no insurance” ticket because you did not have proof of your insurance with you during the traffic stop, or because you did not have insurance at that time, or because you were driving an uninsured car. The main thing you need to do in response to this situation is to purchase and/or acquire proof of your insurance. Here are a few examples of “no insurance” ticket situations and options in and around St. Louis, some of which involve hiring a lawyer to help you avoid getting points added to your record:
• St. Louis Court: Provide proof of insurance and the judge will likely dismiss the ticket with a $50.50 fine, even if the insurance was purchased after the ticket was given.
• Normandy Court: If you can prove you had insurance when you got the ticket, the ticket will be dismissed with $26.50 court costs. If not, judges may charge as much as $350.00 in fines, so you may choose to hire an attorney to negotiate a plea bargain to change your ticket to a lesser charge.
• Edmundson Court: if you can prove you had insurance when you got the ticket, the ticket will be dismissed with a $75.00 fine. If you can’t, but you prove you purchased insurance, the ticket will be dismissed with a $225.00 fine.
• Ladue Court: If you can prove you had insurance when you got the ticket, the ticket will be dismissed with $26.50 court costs. If you can’t, you can hire a lawyer negotiate to have your ticket reduced to “illegal parking” with a fine of $150.50 plus the same court costs.
• Florissant Court: If you can prove you were insured when ticketed, your ticket will be dismissed and you’ll pay $24.50 in court costs. If you can’t, you’ll be fined $227.00, but the ticket will not be reported to the Missouri Dept. of Revenue, and so no points will be added to your record.
If you provide proof of insurance and hire an attorney to negotiate a plea bargain to change your “no insurance” ticket to a lesser charge, you will likely not have to appear in court and the charge will either be dismissed or reduced. You will pay a fine and court costs but no points will be added to your record.
Do you have a traffic ticket or DUI/DWI that you need handled? Get a lawyer that’s licensed in both Illinois and Missouri. Call: 314.499.4040 or visit http://www.trafficlawsolutions.net